top of page

#1 MOST Important Reason to Exercise

The popularity of exercise and healthy eating has been growing exponentially the last few decades. Many people are seeing all of the important benefits or suffering the consequences of lack of movement. Our bodies are not meant to be sedentary, the results being; our muscles weaken, joints stiffen, metabolism slows down, and eventually we are left with bodies almost unable to function. On top of that, the amount of high calorie foods consumed nowadays is unfathomable. This is the perfect recipe for sickness, obesity, and an overall unhealthy life.


One positive thing I get to see and deal with daily is, people who want to change. They reached a point mentally or physically where they decided they wanted to be better and they did something about it. This specific instance im referring to, is joining a gym. Now, this is not the only option by any means, but it is very popular these days. These people go to the gym with a goal or idea in their heads, and 9/10 times it's to improve themselves in some way.. the other 1/10 is to stare at their gym crush.. but that's another story.


I went through my own experience of reaching this point. After graduating high school, I moved to Australia for a gap year. Being young, no one telling me what to do, and finally able to legally drink.. of course, I went all out. Fried foods, all the carbs, cheese, and oh the beautiful Western Australian wineries. To no surprise, I gained 30lbs within that year. I was living a very excessive lifestyle and all those calories had to stay somewhere.


At the heaviest weight I'd ever been, you can probably guess I wasn't very happy with myself. I didn't like what I saw in the mirror. I felt out of control in my mind and body. I felt like a stranger to myself, like I was living in someone else's body.


After months and months of gluttony, you know what happened next?


I decided I wanted to change.


And I did something about it. I joined a gym. Every day since I continue doing something about it.


Most important reason to exercise, weight loss, fitness journey
Very indulgent lifestyle, heaviest weight / Exercise regularly, healthy mind and body

Never will I let myself feel that way again. I will never lose control over the only thing I truly have control over.

Our minds are our greatest tools, they create our unique qualities and define who we are as people. We all have the same capabilities of deciding what we want and doing what we can to achieve it.


The benefits of exercise are endless and you've probably heard them time and time again.. In my experience, the MOST important reason to exercise is to TRAIN THE MIND--

  • to stop always giving into temptations and cravings..

  • to never give up, even when it gets difficult..

  • to have patience..

  • to gain coordination, self control, and self awareness..


Without the ability to control our thoughts, decisions, and actions, our minds are wandering around aimlessly, giving into anything that might, kind of, maybe sound pleasing. This is no way to be living.


I love how prominent health and fitness is becoming these days. It is a reminder that we DO need to be taking care of the absolutely amazing bodies we have. We only have this one, we need to stop trashing it and start caring for it.

Exercise to care for your body

As a personal trainer I get to hear the "I can't because.." stories very, very often. The truth is, these are just stories believed that are hindering any progress. The truth is you do have control. You do have time. You do have the ability to keep going and to push yourself. I admit, it does take time and a lot of energy to stay consistent. But doesn't the reward seem worth it? A healthy body and a strong mind. What more could you want for yourself or your loved ones?


Simply starting is the next step. Get up and do something different. If it's a thirty-minute walk, saying no to a second Caramel Frappuccino today, or picking up an apple instead of a pastry. We have little choices every day that start to define our health. This leads to how we feel on the inside and how we look on the outside.

LOVE YOURSELF. Love yourself enough to educate yourself on what will help you feel better. Listen to your body, the pain and discomfort you're feeling means something. It matters, and it's your responsibility.


Once you start learning, actively striving for a healthier life, and building these better habits, everything is going to change. I know this, because it is exactly what I and hundreds of thousands of other people have gone through. If so many people can do it, I promise you can to. The only thing standing in your way is your mind. Don't listen to the doubting, negative voices. They only limit your potential. Don't pay attention to the cravings that are making you to overeat. Overcome the obstacles. If you feel weak, confused or overwhelmed, ask for help. I personally want to help, and I know so many people out there feel the same. The resources and mentors are out there. You just have to decide..


You are the only obstacle standing in your way from becoming exactly who you want to be. Life is so sweet that way. Whatever you decide to focus your attention on, becomes your reality.

Exercise, explore, happy, push limits
Exercise for mind and body health

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed!

Like, comment, & subscribe for more!

~Happy Healthy Training

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page